What an extraordinary night with extraordinary people! The 2023 Joe Sewell Award Winners were announced on Tuesday, May 2nd at the annual Joe Sewell Award Ceremony.

Girls Overall Award Winner – Courtney Sides, Elmore County High School

Boys Overall Award Winner – Gavan Baxley, Wetumpka High School

Girls Leadership Award Winner – Becca Worrell, Wetumpka High School

Boys Leadership Award Winner – Colton Wayne Wheeler, Holtville High School

Girls Academic Award Winner – Kiley Sisson, Wetumpka High School

Boys Academic Award Winner – Taylor Gunn, Wetumpka High School

Girls Church, Community, & Character Award Winner – Allye Justiss, Elmore County High School

Boys Church, Community, & Character Award Winner – Samuel Allen Silas, Holtville High School

Girls Athletic Award – Emma Renee Chavers – New Life Christian Academy

Boys Athletic Award – Matthew Payton Stephenson, Elmore County High School

We also had the absolute pleasure of welcoming Abby Lutzenkirchen Forristall as our Keynote Speaker.

Forristall is the Director of Events and Opportunities with the Lutzie 43 Foundation. The Foundation, created to honor the memory of Abby’s older brother Philip Lutzenkirchen, exists to reduce the number of distracted driving incidents. Prior to joining the Lutzie 43 Foundation, Abby was a program officer at the Arthur M. Blank Family Foundation where she managed the work of associate-led grant making for the Atlanta Falcons Youth Foundation, Atlanta United Foundation, and the PGA TOUR Superstore Community Fund. Abby graduated from the University of Alabama with a bachelor’s degree in Public Relations. A four-year starter and member of the Crimson Tide women’s soccer team, she was named captain her senior year and was named the 2015 SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Abby is married to Miller Forristall, former UA tight end and current New Orleans Saint.